Top 5 Excuses for Not Changing Your Life

August 5, 2012

This past week, each day I posted one of the top 5 “excuses” that I hear from people when it comes to making the decision to change their lives through improved health and fitness.   There are some powerful messages in those posts, so I thought I’d compile them all here (with a few tweaks).  Here they are:

Excuse #1:  Money.  “I can’t afford to pay for Shakeology, fresh fruits and veggies.”  “There are cheaper options.”

Sometimes people shy away from clean eating because they think it costs more or they can’t afford it. Six months ago when I started with Beachbody I had to “add” things to my grocery list that I had never bought before. Things like: Shakeology, large bags of organic products like chia seeds, almond milk, lots of Red Mill products.  What I didn’t realize was that I would also “subtract” lots of things like bags of candy, ice cream/other sweets, soda, juice and other beverages like lemonade, sugared cereals, boxed/dried foods.  At first I felt like I spent more on these new foods, however now that I’ve eliminated many other foods – I honestly don’t think that I spend more overall.  I also started bringing my lunch to work every day – which helps me control what I eat and reduces costs.  So, I’m not spending more but I feel better, look better and am improving my health which will lead to a longer, healthier life.  I’ll take it!

If you are still not convinced think of it this way…. just like prioritizing your work outs you have got to make getting proper nutrition a PRIORITY.  This means that you plan for it before you plan for anything else.  If it means that you budget for your food before you budget for your nail appointments, nights out drinking – then so be it.  In the end, healthy eating is a life decision that has to be a conscious priority.  It doesn’t just happen.  You CAN fit it into your budget if you want to.

Excuse #2: Time

I often hear, “I don’t have time to work out.”  Here’s the thing… you have got to MAKE time for your daily workouts.  We all have 24 hours in a day and we are all busy.  The people that successfully complete a workout program do so because they make it a priority in their day and schedule everything else after it.  If you say, “I’ll try to work  out this week” – I can guarantee it won’t happen.  You have to say, “I WILL work out this week.”  You may have noticed that I my workout schedule weekly.  On Sunday I plan out my week and I know exactly which workout I’m doing at what time.  It’s a priority for me and I stick with it.  If you can, working out in the morning is great.  You feel fabulous after and then you are all set for the day.  I have worked out at 5am before and 11pm before.  In the end it doesn’t matter what time you work out – you just need to do it!

Excuse #3:  Blaming other people.  “My spouse doesn’t like eating healthy.”  “When I go out with my friends we always go to the bar.”

You are CEO of your own body.  YOU decide what you are going to eat and not eat.  You pick the foods, you pick the times you eat, you pick the amount.  If your spouse is not interested in eating healthy foods – why?  Has he/she ever tried things like quinoa, lean meats and grilled veggies or is he/she in the habit of eating frozen pizzas and other unhealthy foods just because they are there?  If you do the shopping you can control what is brought into the house.  Maybe you start swapping out some of the foods you cook for your family with “better” options.  I agree – change for anyone is not going to come overnight (myself included) – however if your spouse starts seeing the same results that you see from eating better – chances are he/she will be encouraged to continue clean eating as well.

Another challenge to clean eating is hanging out with friends or going out.  When I go out, I limit my alcohol and sometimes I even eat before I go.  When I go to a party I always bring a healthy food choice like fruit salad, quinoa or maybe veggie burgers.  This way, I’ll know there will be at least one healthy choice.  Keep in mind that you don’t have to have perfect eating.  In fact, I find occasional cheats to be healthy for me – as these cheats allows me to satiate the (diminishing) cravings that I do have and prevents me from wanting to binge later.

Excuse #4. “I already have a gym membership.”

Chances are that you already pay for a gym membership and have been doing so for years, right?  Let me ask you these questions – over the period that you have paid for your gym membership:

  1. Have you consistently challenged your body to reach new levels?
  2. Have you achieved and maintained your ideal weight?
  3. Have you consistently used your gym membership at least 3 times a week?
  4. Have you been happy with the way you look?
  5. Is going to the gym always convenient for you?

If you answered yes to all of these questions – then great!   You have found something that works for you – so you should stick with it.

For most of us, “going to the gym” is simply not enough.  The gym is a great tool – however you have to know how to use it in order for it to be effective.  If you do not design a workout program for yourself that incorporates cardio, resistance/strength training, exercises to improve flexibility AND learn how to achieve proper nutrition – you are unlikely to reach AND maintain your fitness goals.

You have to switch up your workouts about every 3 months to keep progressing – otherwise your body will plateau.  You have to do the exercises that you don’t want to do – because those are the exercises that will help you reach the next level.  (Ask yourself… when was the last time you went to the gym and did all the exercises you hate?)

Excuse # 5.  Age.  “I’m too old.”

I have actually heard this one a LOT.  The truth is, you are never too old to workout, change your eating habits and improve your lifestyle.  Muscle knows no age.  People of all ages have the ability to improve their health through exercise.  In fact, exercise can help combat many health issues associated with age:  bone loss, memory loss, depression, loss of overall balance and coordination.  Exercise can also help alleviate symptoms of chronic illnesses.

These “excuses” can come up in all of our lives – even for those of us who have strong commitment to health and fitness.  The important thing to remember is that long term success is based on consistency, dedication.  Decide.  Commit.  Succeed

One Response to “Top 5 Excuses for Not Changing Your Life”

  1. coachjosy Says:

    I agree, I hear the same excuses with my immediate surroundings. Keep on informing people of the advantages of fitness and I will do the same! Have a great day!


Leave a Reply

